The Frederic Church Award Gala

Wednesday, October 2, 2019 

Cocktails begin at 6:30 PM | Dinner and Program begin at 8 PM

The Rainbow Room, New York City | Enter at 49 West 49th Street

Cocktail Attire

About the Award: Frederic Edwin Church (1826-1900), a visionary and renaissance man, is considered one of the greatest 19th century landscape artists in America.  In 2000, the centenary of Church’s death, The Olana Partnership established the Frederic Church Award to honor individuals who, through their vision, commitment and grasp of creative trends, make extraordinary contributions to American culture.

For table and ticket information CLICK HERE. If you have any questions or would like to purchase tickets, please contact Mabel Bermejo at or (518) 751-6901.

Honorary Chairs:

The Durst Family | The Gubelmann Family | Lucy Rockefeller Waletzky


JAZZ JOHNSON MERTON served as Chair of the Board of Trustees of The Olana Partnership from 2004 to 2007.  During her tenure, Jazz championed the vision of a fully restored Olana to include Frederic Church’s historic farm complex. She oversaw the design and completion of significant projects, including the restoration of Church’s Cosy Cottage and the creation of Olana’s  Wagon House Education Center that opened the door to much greater opportunities.


ROSE HARVEY served as NYS Commissioner of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation from 2011 to 2019 and has led the transformation of Olana.  She led the planning process to make accessible and interpret all of Olana’s artist-designed landscape for the public, which resulted in our nationally-recognized Strategic Landscape Design Plan.  Thanks to her vision and leadership, major capital projects are now underway across the site and Olana’s public-private partnership is renewed and strengthened to ensure the future of Frederic Church’s Olana.

Landmark Circle

The Durst Family

Preservation Circle

Mary & Brad Burnham
Renee & Steve Clearman
Jennifer & Joseph Duke
David Forer
James & Kate Gubelmann
Phoebe Gubelmann & Tantivy Gubelmann
Mr. & Mrs. James & Gretchen Johnson
Meredith J. Kane & Richard T. Sharp
Lucy Rockefeller Waletzy, M.D.

Artists Circle

Joe Baker
Margaret Davidson & John Stein
Olivia J. Fussell
Kristin Gamble
Gaines Gwathmey
Jean Hamilton & Rick McCarthy
Bindy & Stephen Kaye
Robin & David Key
Ricky Lark, PhD & Rickey Shaum
Beth & Ricky Mason
Jazz & Chris Merton
Karen Murphy & James Gordon
Constance & Eric Silverman
Theodora & Albert Simons
Pamela Thomas & Sedgwick Ward
Helen & Peter Warwick
Kelly Williams & Andrew Forsyth
Susan Winokur & Paul Leach
Karen Zukowski & David Diamond


Joanne Witty & Eugene Keilin
Mary & Sam Miller
Sarah & Hank Slack
Barbara & Donald Tober


Architecture Research Office
Phebe & George Banta
Stuart Breslow & Anne Miller
Andrew L. Busser
Richard Gilder & Lois Chiles
Robert & Eliza Beth Durden II
Ellen & Frederick Harris
Anne Heller & David de Weese
Alan Hilliker
Steven Horowitz & Debra Kaye
James LaForce & Stephen Henderson
Judith Mogul & Daniel Kramer
Jeff Rosen & Daphne Hsu
Barbara Schatz & Frederick Schaffer
Cynthia & Thomas Sculco
Drs. Gretchen Stearns & Richard Weininger
Daniel Sternberg & Deborah Cooper
Peter & Anna Tcherepnine
Kay & Maynard Toll
Thomas L. Woltz