The Frederic Church Award

About the Award: Frederic Church (1826-1900) was the most celebrated artist of 19th century America, whose artistic vision in landscape extended from the studio into the natural environment. The Olana Partnership has established the Frederic Church Award to honor individuals who, through their vision, commitment and grasp of creative trends, make extraordinary contributions to American art and culture.

If you have any questions please contact Melanie Hasbrook at or
(518) 751-6901.

To read ARTFIXdaily’s coverage of 2020 Frederic Church Award Nominees, click here.


Eleanor Jones Harvey is Senior Curator at the Smithsonian American Art Museum, a leading authority on American landscape painting, and champion of American Art at the national level. Her current exhibition “Alexander von Humboldt and the United States: Art, Nature, and Culture” tells the sweeping saga of how Humboldt’s groundbreaking scientific work shaped American cultural identity. Frederic Church’s engagement with Humboldt’s thinking is at the center of the exhibition, and Eleanor’s engagement with Church and his legacy as America’s foremost landscape artist extends from her decade as Curator of American Art at the Dallas Museum of Art (1992-2002), home to Church’s “The Icebergs” (1861). Church is also featured in her groundbreaking 2012 exhibition “The Civil War and American Art.” The 2020 Frederic Church Award recognizes Eleanor’s lead role in bringing Church’s legacy forward to new generations. We are also thrilled to announce that Eleanor is the newest member of The Olana Partnership’s National Advisory Committee.


David Redden’s 42 year-long career at Sotheby’s is the stuff of legend. Starting as a catalogue trainee, he served as Vice-Chairman from 2000 to 2016, and served as auctioneer for the Collections of the Duke and Duchess of Windsor and the Estate of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, among many others. His headline-grabbing sales included “Sue,” the most complete Tyrannosaurus rex fossil ever recovered and the manuscript of the Magna Carta now in the U.S. National Archives. Inspired by his and Jeannette’s perch on Storm King Mountain, David has served the organizations that protect and preserve the Hudson Valley’s legacy of landscape, nature, and history, including chairing the boards of Scenic Hudson, Black Rock Forest, and The Olana Partnership. At Olana, he led the board in the development of our 2015 Strategic Landscape Design Plan that underpins our current transformation of the visitor experience. David is currently living with ALS, which has not prevented him from continuing his close interest in the Valley and from adding to his voluminous journals.  The 2020 Frederic Church Award recognizes David not only for his crucial role in building our national heritage but also for the tremendous work he has done in service to the preservation and promotion of the Hudson Valley as a founding landscape of American art and identity.


Past Award Recipients

Jazz Johnson Merton (2019)
Rose Harvey (2019)
Patricia Phelps de Cisneros (2018)
David Schuyler (2018)
Laurie Olin, FASLA (2017)
Dr. Linda S. Ferber (2017)
Washburn and Susan Oberwager (2016)
The Cultural Legacy of Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller (2016)
Governor Andrew Cuomo’s NY Parks 2020 (2015)
Jim Hamilton (2015)
Martin Puryear (2015)
Jason Rosenfeld, Ph.D. (2015)
Lucy Rockefeller Waletzky, M.D. (2015)
Alice Cooney Frelinghuysen (2014)

Peter Pennoyer (2014)
Katie Ridder (2014)
Betsy Broun (2013)
Stephen Hannock (2013)
Morrison Heckscher (2012)
Martha Stewart (2012)
Franklin Kelly (2009)
Jonathan Westervelt Warner (2009)
Alice Walton (2008)
John Wilmerding (2008)
Bernadette Castro (2005)
Kay Toll (2003)
Bradford Race, Jr. (2002)
Leon Botstein (2000)
E. Virgil Conway (1999)
John Cronin (1999)

Lead Supporters


Renee & Steve Clearman
The Gubelmann Family
Meredith J. Kane & Richard T. Sharp
Lucy Rockefeller Waletzky, M.D.
Wheelock Whitney, III
Susan Winokur & Paul Leach


Margaret Davidson & John Stein
Olivia J. Fussell
Bindy & Stephen Kaye
Robin & David Key
Henry & Susan Livingston
Beth & Ricky Mason
Theodora & Albert Simons
Pamela & Sedgwick Ward
Helen & Peter Warwick
Kelly Williams & Andrew Forsyth


Joe Baker
John M. & Susan Lavine Coleman
David Forer
Kristin Gamble
Ricky Lark, Ph.D. & Rickey Shaum
Lucy S. Rhame


Fleur S. Bresler
Joan K. Davidson
Jean Hamilton & Richard McCarthy
Jennifer Krieger & Eric Siegel
James LaForce & Stephen Henderson
Ru & Sheila Rauch
Jeannette & David Redden
Frederic C. Rich
Kay & Maynard Toll
Karen Zukowski & David Diamond


Architecture Research Office
Karyn & Charles Bendit
Stuart Breslow & Anne Miller
Elizabeth Broun
Mr. & Mrs. John E. Cay, III
Jim & Janet Dicke
Mr. & Mrs. John French, III
Elizabeth Graziolo, Yellow House Architects
Marifé Hernández & Joel Bell
Jazz Johnson
Robert S. & Grayce B. Kerr Foundation, Inc.
John S. Knott & John Fondas
Washburn & Susan Oberwager
Anne & Joseph Pierson
Thomas A. & Georgina T. Russo
Dr. & Mrs. Thomas P. Sculco
Constance & Eric Silverman
Jane Smith & Jules Anderson
Katrina and Colin Stair
Peter & Anna Tcherepnine
Paul Warren & Chris Chi

Additional Support By

Sarah Coffin & Thomas O’Connor
Matt & Amy Davidson
Sara & Tom Griffen
Marjorie & Gurnee Hart
Christine Jones & Bert Goldfinger
Peter & Hela Kindler
Mr. and Mrs. John E. Kippax
The Lunder Foundation
Sam S. Miller
Diana Phillips
Monica Ray & Albert Key
Dick & Maggie Scarlett
Susan & Sam Schwartz
David & Sarah Stack
Suzy & Sadek Wahba
Arete Warren
Mr. & Mrs. Nigel Widdowson
Mike Wilkins & Sheila Duignan
Stephanie Zhang

Top Image Credit: Frederic Edwin Church, Niagara, 1857. Oil on canvas, 40 x 90.5 in. Corcoran Collection, National Gallery of Art, 2014.79.10