The 22nd Annual Frederic Church Award Gala

LEADER Meredith J. Kane
CURATOR Elizabeth Mankin Kornhauser
ARTIST Jean Shin

NEW DATE: Tuesday, April 12, 2022 

Cocktails 6:30pm | Dinner and Broadcast 8:00pm

The Rainbow Room, New York City | Enter at 49 West 49th Street

In-person or broadcast LIVE from New York City

Cocktail Attire for all In-person Attendees

About the Award: Frederic Church (1826-1900) was the most celebrated artist of 19th century America, whose artistic vision in landscape extended from the studio into the natural environment. The Olana Partnership has established the Frederic Church Award to honor individuals who, through their vision, commitment and grasp of creative trends, make extraordinary contributions to American art and culture.

If you have any questions please contact Melanie Hasbrook at or
(518) 751-6901.


About the Honorees

Meredith J. Kane, Leader

One of the country’s leading real estate lawyers, Meredith Kane has served as a trustee of The Olana Partnership since 2012 and as chair for an extraordinary five years, since 2017. She has guided the dramatic expansion of our public-private partnership with NYS Parks, championed the implementation of Olana’s Strategic Landscape Design Plan, and steered us through the COVID pandemic. In her four-decade-long legal career at Paul Weiss Rifkind Wharton & Garrison LLP, Meredith has been instrumental in the major commercial and cultural development projects of our generation, including Hudson Yards and Atlantic Yards and the restoration of Grand Central Terminal, the Park Avenue Amory, New York Public Library, and transformed nine historic theaters as part of the 42nd Street Development Project. She also has a distinguished record of public and non-profit service, serving as a New York City Landmarks Preservation Commissioner from 1995 to 2004 and on the World Trade Center Memorial Advisory Committee.

Elizabeth Mankin Kornhauser, Curator

The Alice Pratt Brown Curator of American Paintings and Sculpture at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Elizabeth Mankin Kornhauser is one of the country’s leading specialists and curators of American art. At the Met since 2010 and at the Wadsworth Athenaeum for nearly three decades, she has organized major exhibitions on Thomas Hart Benton, George Caleb Bingham, Ralph Earl, Marsden Hartley, John Singer Sargent, and the ground-breaking 2018 exhibition Thomas Cole’s Journey: Atlantic Crossings. She has led the field in bringing American art into an international perspective, including organizing touring exhibitions of American 19th Century Landscape Paintings to Australia and Germany, and in embracing the art and culture of indigenous peoples.

Jean Shin, Artist

Artist Jean Shin transforms everyday objects into elegant expressions of identity and community engagement that reflect the personal as well as collective issues we face as a society. In “FALLEN,” her major site-specific installation at Olana this season, she memorializes an individual hemlock tree planted by Frederic Church but also confronts us with the large-scale environmental impact of human demand for leather, speaking to the cultural history of our region. Jean’s work has been exhibited nationally, from MoMA, the Philadelphia Museum of Art, and the Museum of Art and Design to Boston’s MFA, the Smithsonian American Art Museum, and San Francisco’s Asian Art Museum. She has completed numerous public art commissions, including Elevated in the 63rd Street station of the Second Avenue Subway.

Lead Supporters

Janet and Jim Dicke

Sarah Arison
Renee and Steve Clearman
The Durst Family
The Gubelmann Family
Meredith J. Kane
Beth and Ricky Mason
Pamela and Sedgwick Ward

Joe Baker
Stuart Breslow and Anne Miller
Margaret Davidson and John Stein
Laurel Durst and Edward Strong
David Forer
Olivia J. Fussell
Kristin Gamble
Jean D. Hamilton and Richard N. McCarthy
Bindy and Stephen Kaye
Robin and David Key
Lucy S. Rhame
Rockefeller Group
Rick Sharp
Stewart Title Insurance Company
Lulu and Anthony Wang
Helen and Peter Warwick
Diana Wege
Kelly Williams and Andrew Forsyth
Susan Winokur and Paul Leach
Karen Zukowski and David Diamond

Elizabeth and Allen Cutler
Leslie Gordon Fagen
Peter Fisch, Harris Freidus, and Salvatore Gogliormella
Linda Genereux and Timur Galen
Jeh Johnson
The Kane and Wolberg Families
Kohlberg Foundation
Jennifer Krieger and Eric Siegel
Ricky Lark, Ph.D. and Rickey Shaum
Mary and Sam Miller
Robert Ouimette
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Frederic C. Rich
David and Susan Rockefeller
Frederick Schaffer and Barbara Schatz
Ira Schuman
Jane Smith
Barbara Tober
Lucy R. Waletzky, M.D.

Architecture Research Office
Babs and Chip Bohl
BKSK Architects
Blue Sky Real Estate Development
Elizabeth Broun
Beth Rudin DeWoody
Cheryl and Blair Effron
John French III and Carole Bailey French
Max Friedman and Tom Romich
Jan and Lester Greenberg
Marifé Hernández and Joel Bell
Hines – Tommy Craig
Gary O. Holder and Todd M. Whitley
Christine Jones and Bert Goldfinger
Debra Kaye and Steven Horowitz
Jonathan Rose Companies
Alan W. Kornberg and Harold J. Koda
James LaForce and Stephen Henderson
Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects
Robert Paley and Leslie Schneier
Royal Abstract
Thomas A. and Georgina T. Russo
Dr. and Mrs. Thomas P. Sculco
Constance and Eric Silverman
Dan Sternberg and Debbie Cooper
Peter and Anna Tcherepnine
Kay and Maynard Toll
Illiana Van Meeteren and Terence Boylan
Joanne Witty and Eugene Keilin

Past Award Recipients

Eleanor Jones Harvey (2020)
David Redden (2020)
Jazz Johnson Merton (2019)
Rose Harvey (2019)
Patricia Phelps de Cisneros (2018)
David Schuyler (2018)
Laurie Olin, FASLA (2017)
Dr. Linda S. Ferber (2017)
Washburn and Susan Oberwager (2016)
The Cultural Legacy of Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller (2016)
Governor Andrew Cuomo’s NY Parks 2020 (2015)
Jim Hamilton (2015)
Martin Puryear (2015)
Jason Rosenfeld, Ph.D. (2015)
Lucy Rockefeller Waletzky, M.D. (2015)
Peter Pennoyer (2014)
Katie Ridder (2014)
Betsy Broun (2013)
Stephen Hannock (2013)
Morrison Heckscher (2012)
Martha Stewart (2012)
Franklin Kelly (2009)
Jonathan Westervelt Warner (2009)
Alice Walton (2008)
John Wilmerding (2008)
Bernadette Castro (2005)
Kay Toll (2003)
Bradford Race, Jr. (2002)
Leon Botstein (2000)
E. Virgil Conway (1999)
John Cronin (1999)



Top Image Credit: New York City from the Rainbow Room photo by Beth Schneck Photography,