LIVE: The 24th Annual Frederic Church Awards

April 30, 2024 | LIVE from the Rainbow Room | 8PM EST


CURATOR: Barbara Haskell


PATRON: Janet S. Dicke

About the Award

Frederic Church (1826-1900), was an American visionary, the most successful member of America’s first art movement, the Hudson River School. In 2000, the centenary of Church’s death, The Olana Partnership established the Frederic Church Award to honor individuals who, through their vision, commitment and grasp of creative trends, make extraordinary contributions to American art and culture.
More about this year’s honorees

CURATOR: Barbara Haskell

Barbara Haskell is a long-time curator at the Whitney Museum of American Art, a well-known scholar on American modern art, and author of over thirty publications. Among the landmark thematic exhibitions she has curated are The American Century: Art & Culture 1900–1950 (1999), BLAM! The Explosion of Pop, Minimalism and Performance 1958–1964 (1984), and Vida Americana: Mexican Muralists Remake American Art, 1925–1945 (2020). In addition, she has curated retrospectives and authored accompanying scholarly monographs on a range of early-twentieth-century and post-war American artists, including H. C. Westermann (1978), Marsden Hartley (1980), Milton Avery (1982), Ralston Crawford (1985), Charles Demuth (1987), Red Grooms (1987), Donald Judd (1988), Burgoyne Diller (1990), Agnes Martin (1992), Joseph Stella (1994), Edward Steichen (2000), Elie Nadelman (2003), Oscar Bluemner (2005), Georgia O’Keeffe (2009), Lyonel Feininger (2011), Robert Indiana (2013), Stuart Davis (2016), and Grant Wood (2018). In 2003, she was awarded the Lawrence A. Fleischman Award for Scholarly Excellence in the Field of American Art History by the Smithsonian Archives of American Art.  

Photo by Nick Carter


Named America’s Best Interior Designer by Time magazine and CNN, Sheila Bridges is a creative visionary and design tastemaker. Residing and working between Harlem, Hudson, NY and Reykjavik, Iceland; Bridges has been globally recognized for her classic yet versatile design aesthetic and critical eye. For the past 30 years, Bridges has created beautiful spaces for a diverse group of high-profile clients, including the Harlem offices for former President Bill Clinton and his staff, and the redecoration of One Observatory Circle, the official residence of Vice President Kamala Harris and Second Gentleman Doug Emhoff. Her masterful, multi-layered interiors have earned her inclusion on Elle Decor’s A List, Architectural Digest’s AD100, 1stDibs 50 and most recently, Forbes magazine’s 50 Over 50. Sheila’s professional expertise extends well beyond her thirty-five-year tenure in interior design, including hosting four seasons of Sheila Bridges: Designer Living on the Fine Living Network, authoring two books, being a former contributor on NBC’s Today show and a monthly contributing editor at MORE Magazine. Her visual cultural translations have been showcased in museums internationally, including The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Studio Museum of Harlem, the Museum of the City of New York, Musée Des Beaux-Arts Montreal and the Musée De La Toile De Jouy in Jouy-en Josas, France. Bridges is also honored to have her designs included in the permanent collections of the Brooklyn Museum, the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, RISD Museum, the National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, DC and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

PATRON: Janet S. Dicke

Born in Pittsburgh, Janet Dicke is a world traveler, art collector, and philanthropist. She graduated from Trinity University in San Antonio with a B.A. major in elementary education. She married her Trinity sweetheart, Jim Dicke, after graduation, and moved to New Bremen, OH, where Jim joined the family business, Crown Equipment. Janet is devoted to education and has served as a trustee, chairman, and chairman emeritus of The Academy at Ocean Reef, a private school in Key Largo, FL for 3-year-olds through 8th grade and currently serves as a trustee of Trinity University. Janet has been involved in the management of interior design needs for Crown Equipment’s corporate guest facilities and of a restaurant in New Bremen. She and Jim are avid and adventuresome travelers, and Janet enjoys researching destinations to experience as much of its culture, food, art, and history as possible. She enjoys art expos, most notably the Art Venice Biennale. Janet has always been attracted to nature and the environment and sees Olana as uniting her passions for art and nature. Janet and Jim have a son and daughter and five grandsons.

Lead Supporters

Frederic Church Circle

Janet and Jim Dicke

Landmark Circle

Alice L. Walton

Preservation Circle

The Gubelmann Family Beth and Ricky Mason Lucy Rhame Helen and Peter Warwick Susan Winokur and Paul Leach

Artist Circle

Amy and David Abrams Joe Baker Eric Blair-Joannou Jamie Carano and Philip Nordenström Laurel Durst and Edward Strong Meredith J. Kane Bindy and Stephen Kaye Robin and David Key Jennifer Krieger and Eric Siegel Laurie M. Tisch Illumination Fund Anne Welsh McNulty Mary and Garrett Moran Nancy and Fred Poses Sam Rose Emily Sachar and Joel Gordin Sedgwick Ward Kelly Williams and Andrew Forsyth Karen Zukowski and David Diamond

Hudson River Valley Benefactor

Regina Aldisert Margaret Davidson and John Stein Paula and Philip Forman Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates PC Kristin Gamble Agnes Gund Jean D. Hamilton and Richard N. McCarthy Suk Han and Andrea Vittorelli Barbara and Sven Huseby Sheila and Bill Lambert Nick and Nancy Lanni Ricky Lark, Ph.D. and Rickey Shaum Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects Lynn and Nick Nicholas Robert Ouimette Russell Post Jane Smith Herb and Paula Stumberg Monica Taylor Lotty and Brendan Lotty Felicitas Thorne Barbara Tober Nadia Zilkha and Larry Stein

Preservation Patron

Diane Archer Architecture Research Office Hal Aronow-Theil and Pat Henry Richard A. and Joanne Brodie Elizabeth Broun Sarah D. Coffin and Thomas O’Connor Cheryl and Blair Effron Tom and Tania Evans Feuerman Studios Stephen Hannock and Jason Rosenfeld John and Hélène Heath Gary O. Holder and Todd M. Whitley Elizabeth Graziolo Jan and Lester Greenberg Alan Hilliker and Vivien Liu Victoria Johnson and Markley Boyer Christine Jones and Bert Goldfinger Susan and Roger Kennedy Victor and Sarah Kovner James LaForce and Stephen Henderson Alison Lankenau Miyoung E. Lee The Lunder Foundation Jennifer and Jesse Lynn Michael Altman Fine Art & Advisory Services Washburn and Susan Oberwager Deborah Roberts and Al Roker Elizabeth Roberts, Psy.D. Thomas A. and Georgina T. Russo Gillian and Simon Salama-Caro Constance and Eric Silverman Denise Simon and Paulo Vieira da Cunha Sotheby’s Michael Tavano and Lloyd Marks Kay and Maynard Toll Illiana Van Meeteren and Terence Boylan Paul and Christabel Vartanian Dianne Young Past Award Recipients Sarah D. Coffin (2023) Lynn Davis (2023) Kelly M. Williams (2023) Meredith Kane (2022) Elizabeth Mankin Kornhauser (2022) Jean Shin (2022) Eleanor Jones Harvey (2020) David Redden (2020) Jazz Johnson Merton (2019) Rose Harvey (2019) Patricia Phelps de Cisneros (2018) David Schuyler (2018) Laurie Olin, FASLA (2017) Dr. Linda S. Ferber (2017) Washburn and Susan Oberwager (2016) The Cultural Legacy of Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller (2016) Governor Andrew Cuomo’s NY Parks 2020 (2015) Jim Hamilton (2015) Martin Puryear (2015) Jason Rosenfeld, Ph.D. (2015) Lucy Rockefeller Waletzky, M.D. (2015) Peter Pennoyer (2014) Katie Ridder (2014) Betsy Broun (2013) Stephen Hannock (2013) Morrison Heckscher (2012) Martha Stewart (2012) Franklin Kelly (2009) Jonathan Westervelt Warner (2009) Alice Walton (2008) John Wilmerding (2008) Bernadette Castro (2005) Kay Toll (2003) Bradford Race, Jr. (2002) Leon Botstein (2000) E. Virgil Conway (1999) John Cronin (1999)